Deputy Minister Obed Bapela

Photo of: Deputy Minister Obed Bapela

Deputy Minister in The Presidency: Performance, Monitoring and Evaluation


Deputy Minister in the Presidency for performance Monitoring and Evaluation of the Republic of South Africa, since 24 October 2011
Member of Parliament since 2002

Academic Qualifications

Diploma in Journalism
Certificate in Community and Organisational Development
Certificate in Safety and Security
Certificate in Policy Development with specialisation in International Relations
Currently studying towards Advanced Diploma in Development Economics at University of South Africa

Career/Memberships/Positions/Other Activities

Part of the 1976 uprising student activists
Member of the African National Congress (ANC) underground structures since 1979
Member of the Congress of South African Student (COSAS) in early 1980s
Founding member of Alexandra Youth Congress in 1983 later became its Deputy President
Founding member of United Democratic Front (UDF) in 1983
Member of the Civic movement later known as South African National Civic Organisation - SANCO (1985 - 1986)
Deputy Secretary of ANC Johannesburg branch
Regional Secretary of the ANC PWV (1991 - 1994)
Deputy Secretary of ANC Gauteng province (1994 - 2000)
Served as Ex-Official in the National Executive Committee of the ANC
Detained several times and appeared in two political trials in Port Elizabeth and Alexandra (1986, and 1987 -1990)
Member of Joint Rules Committee
Member of National Assembly Committee
Member of Joint Programming Committee
Member of National Assembly Programming Committee
Chairperson of the inter Parliamentary Group on International Relations
Member of Portfolio Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade and Industry
Facilitator/Chairperson of South Africa- European Union Inter Parliamentry Meetings
Member of Gauteng Provincial Legislature (1994 - 1999)
Served on Gauteng Portfolio Committee on Safety and Security
Former House Chairperson of National Assembly
Deputy Minister of Communications of the Republic of South Africa, (1 November 2010 - 24 October 2011)

Print    Email
Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Our YouTube Channel Flickr RSS Feed