Back to top

President to attend handover of BMW contribution to fight against GBVF

Profile Image: 
President Cyril Ramaphosa and German Chancellor Angela Merkel will on Thursday, 06 February 2020, attend the official handover of the five BMW i3s vehicles that will be used to support community-based care workers in their prevention of gender-based violence and femicide (GBVF) and in victim support.

The handover ceremony will take place at the BMW Group production plant in Rosslyn, Tshwane.

The automotive group’s contribution is a significant demonstration of the growing partnership between government and civil society, which includes the business sector, as well as international partners, in the fight against GBVF.

The five BMW i3s will be presented to the South African Business Coalition on Health and AIDS (SABCOHA) to manage on behalf of the multi-sectoral  Interim Steering Committee on GBVF.

The handover will be witnessed by President Ramaphosa and Chancellor Merkel who is undertaking an official visit at the invitation of the President.

BMW SA’s donation of the vehicles is part of the company’s long-term commitment to the country and to the upliftment of communities.

This initiative is part of the Automotive Industry Transformation Fund (R6 billion), which has been established to transform the automotive value chain and enable participation by previously and historically disadvantaged groups, including women, youth and persons with disabilities, in this sector.

The vehicles will be used to support community-based care workers in their work to prevent violence and support victims.

Members of the media are invited as follows:

Date: Thursday, 06 February 2020
Time: 15:40 (Media to arrive at 14h30)
Venue: BMW Group Plant, Training Centre, Gate 4, Hendrik Van Eck Street, Rosslyn

Members of the media wishing to attend must send their details to Shadi Baloyi on 072 571 6415 or not later than Wednesday, 05 February 2020 at 15h00.

Media enquiries: Khusela Diko, Spokesperson to the President on 072 854 5707

Issued by: The Presidency