Back to top

President Zuma expands Inter-Ministerial Committee on Migration

Profile Image: 
President Jacob Zuma has added all nine Provincial Premiers and the South African Local Government Association as members of the Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC) on Migration that focuses on all aspects of migration including South Africa’s migration policy and how various sectors can work with government to promote orderly migration and good relations between citizens and nationals of other countries.

At the meeting of the President’s Coordinating Council on held on Friday, 10 March 2017, a decision was taken to expand the membership of the committee to ensure coordination by all spheres of government. Consequently, membership now includes the leadership of provincial and local government. The committee was established in 2015.

The name will now change to the Inter-Governmental Committee on Migration and it is constituted as follows:

1. Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation, Mr Jeff Radebe as Chairperson
2. Minister of Home Affairs, Mr Malusi Gigaba as Deputy Chairperson
3. Minister of Police, Mr Nathi Nhleko
4. Minister of Basic Education, Ms Angie Motshekga
5. Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Mr David van Rooyen
6. Minister of Defence and Military Veterans, Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula
7. Minister of Health, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi
8. Minister of Human Settlements, Ms Lindiwe Sisulu
9. Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
10. Minister of Justice and Correctional Services, Adv Michael Masutha
11. Minister of Small Business Development, Ms Lindiwe Zulu
12. Minister of Social Development, Ms Bathabile Dlamini
13. Minister of State Security, Mr David Mahlobo
14. Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies
15. Minister of Communications, Ms Faith Muthambi
16. Premier of Gauteng, Mr David Makhura
17. Premier of KwaZulu-Natal, Mr Willies Mchunu
18. Premier of Limpopo, Mr Stanley Mathabatha
19. Premier of Mpumalanga, Mr David Mabuza
20. Premier of the Eastern Cape, Mr Phumulo Masualle
21. Premier of the Free State, Mr Ace Magashule
22. Premier of the North West, Mr Supra Mahumapelo
23. Premier of the Northern Cape, Ms Sylvia Lucas
24. Premier of the Western Cape, Ms Helen Zille and
25. President of the South African Local Government Association, Mr Parks Tau

The Department of Home Affairs will lead the Technical Task Team of Directors-General for the IGC.

Enquiries: Dr Bongani Ngqulunga on 082 308 9373 or

Issued by: The Presidency