Find Us On...

Find us on FacebookFind us on TwitterFind us on YouTubeFind us on FlickrFind us on Instagram
National Assembly Questions for Oral Reply
Deputy President Paul Mashatile responding to oral questions in the National Assembly, Parliament
National Conference on the Constitution
President Ramaphosa delivers the keynote address at the conference
Human Rights Day 2023
President Ramaphosa delivers the keynote address at the commemoration
Annual dialogue of Government and NHTKL
President Ramaphosa participates at the annual dialogue of Government and National House of Traditional and Khoi-San Leaders
Special Extended SANAC Plenary
Deputy President Mashatile convenes the first plenary of 2023, Union Buildings in Pretoria


Back to top

Frederick Willem de Klerk

The Order of Mapungubwe in

Frederick Willem de Klerk Awarded for:
Exceptional and unparalleled contribution to peace, national reconciliation and nation-building in the republic of South Africa.

Profile of Frederick Willem de Klerk

Frederik Willem de Klerk goes into the annals of history as the President of the last white minority government who was bold enough to lead white South Africa out of an unsustainable and untenable apartheid system towards a non-racial, non-sexist, prosperous and democratic South Africa.

During his reign, Mr De Klerk went about dismantling many of the provisions of apartheid and setting the stage for the first democratic general election in 1994.

In February 1990, he lifted a 30-year ban on the ANC and other liberation movements and released Nelson Mandela after 27 years in prison. De Klerk and Mandela worked together for political transformation that ended the nation’s era of white minority rule and in 1993, he and Mandela agreed on a timetable for a transition to a non-racial democratic state.

Nelson Mandela called Mr De Klerk ‘a man of integrity’. Through the F W De Klerk Foundation he currently focuses his attention on peace, national reconciliation and nation-building in the Republic of South Africa.

De Klerk together with Mandela were joint recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize in December 1993.

Error | The Presidency


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.