Back to top

Inaugural meeting of panel for the appointment of Chief Justice

Profile Image: 
The panel for the appointment of the next Chief Justice held its inaugural meeting on Thursday, 30 September 2021, under the chairing of Judge Navanethem Pillay, to deliberate on procedural and substantive matters of the work of the panel.
The panel has been appointed by President Cyril Ramaphosa to openly, transparently and expeditiously compile a shortlist of suitable candidates for the position of Chief Justice from nominations by the public.
The President has decided that South Africans should take part in the choice of the next Chief Justice as part of promoting transparency and encouraging public participation.
The first meeting of the panel took place in hybrid format with three panel members meeting in person and three members joining on a virtual platform.
The panel consists of Judge Navanethem Pillay as chairperson; Minister of Justice and Correctional Services Ronald Lamola; Former Minister of Justice Jeff Radebe; Former Public Protector Adv. Thuli Madonsela; Co-chair of the South African National AIDS Council Ms Mmapaseka Steve Letsike, and Professor of Law at Howard University School of Law, Professor Ziyad Motala.
During the meeting all panel members confirmed their acceptance of the task and declared that they had no conflict of interest. 
All discussions and decisions taken with regard to the Terms of Reference and criteria for assessment of the nominees agreed upon by the Panel will be published in due course as a matter of keeping the public abreast of this process.
The panel is required to report to the President by Friday 29 October 2021. 
Media enquiries: Tyrone Seale, Acting Spokesperson to President Cyril Ramaphosa –
Issued by: The Presidency