Find Us On...

Find us on FacebookFind us on TwitterFind us on YouTubeFind us on FlickrFind us on Instagram
National Conference on the Constitution
President Ramaphosa delivers the keynote address at the conference
Human Rights Day 2023
President Ramaphosa delivers the keynote address at the commemoration
Annual dialogue of Government and NHTKL
President Ramaphosa participates at the annual dialogue of Government and National House of Traditional and Khoi-San Leaders
Special Extended SANAC Plenary
Deputy President Mashatile convenes the first plenary of 2023, Union Buildings in Pretoria
Courtesy Call
Deputy President Paul Mashatile pays a courtesy call on President Samia Siluhu Hassan of the United Republic of Tanzania
previous next


Back to top

Presidential Climate Change Coordinating Commission appointed

Profile Image: 
President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed members of the inaugural Presidential Climate Change Coordinating Commission (P4C) with effect from 17 December 2020.
The establishment of the Commission emanates from the Presidential Jobs Summit held in October 2018 when social partners agreed that a statutory body be formed to coordinate and oversee the just transition towards a low-carbon, inclusive, climate change resilient economy and society.
The Commission is tasked with advising on South Africa’s climate change response. This includes mitigation and adaptation to climate change and its associated impacts. It will furthermore provide independent monitoring and review of South Africa’s progress in meeting its emissions reduction and adaptation goals.
Under the Commission’s Terms of Reference it will advise on and facilitate a common understanding of a just transition, cognisant of the socio-economic, environmental and technological implications of climate change. This covers adaptation, mitigation as well as means of implementation.
It will also provide a platform for the engagement of key stakeholders on the National Employment Vulnerability Assessment (NEVA) and Sector Job Resilient Plans (SJRPs) and ensure reporting of progress towards the implementation of the Sector Job Resilient Plans.
The Commission comprises representatives from government departments and state entities, business organisations, labour, academia, civil society, research institutions and traditional leadership.
The newly appointed members of the Presidential Climate Change Coordinating Commission, which is chaired by the President, are:
1. Mr Valli Moosa (Deputy Chair)
2. Ms Ayakha Melithafa
3. Dr Brian Mantlana
4. Ms Mandy Rambaros
5. Ms Joanne Bate
6. Mr Dhesigen Naidoo
7. Ms Mapaseka Lukhele
8. Ms Shamini Harrington
9. Ms Princess Tsakani Nkambule
10. Mr Setlakalane Molepo
11. Ms Joanne Yawitch
12. Mbulaheni Mbodi
13. Ms Lebogang Mulaisi
14. Mr Jacques Hugo
15. Mr Mac Chavalala
16. Mr Bongani Mwale
17. Ms Louise Naude
18. Mr Bobby Peek
19. Mr Happy Khambule
20. Mr Bantu Holomisa
21. Ms Melissa Fourie
22. Ms Makoma Lekalakala

The process of receiving nominations for and making appointments of additional members is ongoing and will be finalised in due course.
President Ramaphosa has congratulated the newly appointed members of the Commission and wished them well in the execution of their duties.

Media enquiries: Tyrone Seale, Acting Spokesperson to the President -

Issued by: The Presidency
Error | The Presidency


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.