Find Us On...

Find us on FacebookFind us on TwitterFind us on YouTubeFind us on FlickrFind us on Instagram
2023 National Orders ceremony
The Grand Patron and the Chancellor of the National Orders, President Cyril Ramaphosa, poses for a Family Photo with recepients of the 2023 National Orders
2023 National Freedom Day celebration
President Cyril Ramaphosa deliveres the keynote address at the 2023 National Freedom Day celebration at the Manzilpark Stadium in Klerksdorp, North West
SA Mental Health Conference
Deputy President Paul Mashatile delivers the closing remarks at the South African Mental Health Conference held at Emperor's Palace, Ekurhuleni
South Africa - Finland Business Roundtable
President Cyril Ramaphosa and Finland President Sauli Niinistö during the South Africa-Finland Business Roundtable on the occasion of the Finland State Visit
Finland State Visit
President Cyril Ramaphosa welcomes President Sauli Niinistö of the Republic of Finland to the Unon Buildings on the occasion of his State Visit to South Africa
previous next


Back to top
Profile Image: 
President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed members of the inaugural Presidential Climate Change Coordinating Commission (P4C) with effect from 17 December 2020.
The establishment of the Commission emanates from the Presidential Jobs Summit held in October 2018 when social partners agreed that a statutory body be formed to coordinate and oversee the just transition towards a low-carbon, inclusive, climate change resilient economy and society.
The Commission is tasked with advising on South Africa’s climate change response. This includes mitigation and adaptation to climate change and its associated impacts. It will furthermore provide independent monitoring and review of South Africa’s progress in meeting its emissions reduction and adaptation goals.
Under the Commission’s Terms of Reference it will advise on and facilitate a common understanding of a just transition, cognisant of the socio-economic, environmental and technological implications of climate change. This covers adaptation, mitigation as well as means of implementation.
It will also provide a platform for the engagement of key stakeholders on the National Employment Vulnerability Assessment (NEVA) and Sector Job Resilient Plans (SJRPs) and ensure reporting of progress towards the implementation of the Sector Job Resilient Plans.
The Commission comprises representatives from government departments and state entities, business organisations, labour, academia, civil society, research institutions and traditional leadership.
The newly appointed members of the Presidential Climate Change Coordinating Commission, which is chaired by the President, are:
1. Mr Valli Moosa (Deputy Chair)
2. Ms Ayakha Melithafa
3. Dr Brian Mantlana
4. Ms Mandy Rambaros
5. Ms Joanne Bate
6. Mr Dhesigen Naidoo
7. Ms Mapaseka Lukhele
8. Ms Shamini Harrington
9. Ms Princess Tsakani Nkambule
10. Mr Setlakalane Molepo
11. Ms Joanne Yawitch
12. Mbulaheni Mbodi
13. Ms Lebogang Mulaisi
14. Mr Jacques Hugo
15. Mr Mac Chavalala
16. Mr Bongani Mwale
17. Ms Louise Naude
18. Mr Bobby Peek
19. Mr Happy Khambule
20. Mr Bantu Holomisa
21. Ms Melissa Fourie
22. Ms Makoma Lekalakala

The process of receiving nominations for and making appointments of additional members is ongoing and will be finalised in due course.
President Ramaphosa has congratulated the newly appointed members of the Commission and wished them well in the execution of their duties.

Media enquiries: Tyrone Seale, Acting Spokesperson to the President -

Issued by: The Presidency
Error | The Presidency


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.